Professor Dr. Rene Bernards - Gilde Healthcare

team
Venture&Growth

All team members
Professor Dr. Rene Bernards
Operativer Partner
Vereinigte Staaten von Amerika

Professor Dr. Rene Bernards

Operativer Partner

Als Forscher und Serienunternehmer bringt Professor Dr. René Bernards umfangreiche Erfahrungen in der Onkologie mit. Er ist Professor am Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI). Am Massachusetts Institute of Technology forschte er in der Gruppe von Robert Weinberg am Whitehead Institute. 1988 kam er als Assistenzprofessor an die Harvard Medical School, um die Funktion von Onkogenen und Tumorsuppressorgenen zu untersuchen. 1984 promovierte er an der Universität Leiden. 1994 wurde er zum Teilzeitprofessor für molekulare Karzinogenese an der Universität Utrecht in den Niederlanden ernannt.

Sein Labor konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung neuer Ansätze zur Durchführung genomweiter genetischer Screens, um neuartige Gene zu identifizieren, die auf krebsrelevanten  Mechanismen wirken. Seine Forschung hat 14 klinische Studien hervorgebracht (darunter 2 globale Phase-3-Studien).

Er war Mitbegründer von Agendia im Jahr 2003, Prolifix im Jahr 1993 (derzeit TopoTarget) und Qameleon.

Bei Gilde bringt er seine Erfahrung in der Entdeckung von Wirkstoffzielen, der präklinischen und klinischen Entwicklung sowie der Präzisionsmedizin aktiv in die Bewertung von Investitionsmöglichkeiten in den Bereichen Onkologie, Unternehmensaufbau und Portfoliomanagement ein.

Dan Secor

Associate Healthtech
Venture&Growth
Dan Secor kam 2020 zu Gilde Healthcare ins Cambridge Büro und konzentriert sich auf den Healthtech-Sektor. Er war Teil des Investmentteams von Gilde bei Eargo, wo er als Beobachter des Vorstands fungierte. Bevor er zu...

Edwin de Graaf

Managing Partner
Edwin de Graaf ist Gründer und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von Gilde Healthcare. Edwin arbeitet seit 1997 bei Gilde, nach einer dreijährigen Tätigkeit als Steuerberater bei Cooperx & Lybrand (heute PwC). Er ist mitverantwortlich für die Vermögensverwaltung...

Stefan Luzi

Partner Therapeutics
Venture&Growth
Stefan Luzi kam im Jahr 2015 zu Gilde Healthcare. Er konzentriert sich auf Venture- und Wachstumskapital-Investitionen im Biopharma Bereich. Er war für mehrere Investitionen verantwortlich und vertritt Gilde im Vorstand von Lava Therapeutics B.V. und...

Professor Dr. Rene Bernards - Gilde Healthcare

team
Venture&Growth

All team members
Professor Dr. Rene Bernards
Operational Partner
United States of America

Professor Dr. Rene Bernards

Operational Partner

Professor Dr René Bernards brings extensive experience in oncology as a researcher and a serial entrepreneur. He is a Professor at the Netherlands Cancer Institute (NKI). He performed his post-doctoral research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Robert Weinberg’s group at the Whitehead Institute. He joined Harvard Medical School as an assistant professor in 1988 to study function of oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes He received his PhD in 1984 from the University of Leiden. In 1994 he was appointed part time professor of molecular carcinogenesis at Utrecht University, The Netherlands.

His laboratory focuses on the development of new tools to perform genome-wide genetic screens to identify novel genes that act in cancer relevant pathways.His research has produced 14 clinical trials (including 2 global Phase 3 trials).

He has co-founded Agendia in 2003, Prolifix in 1993 (currently TopoTarget) and Qameleon.

At Gilde he actively contributes his experience in drug target discovery, preclinical and clinical development and precision medicine in the evaluation of investment opportunities in oncology, company building and portfolio management.

Edwin de Graaf

Managing Partner
Edwin de Graaf is founder and managing partner of Gilde Healthcare. Edwin joined Gilde in 1997 following a career of 3 years as a tax consultant with Coopers & Lybrand (now PwC). He is co-responsible...

David Nicholson

Operational Partner
David Nicholson is a recognized leader in Pharmaceutical R&D. Most recently he served as Executive Vice President and Chief R&D Officer of Allergan. Previously, he served as Chief Technology Officer and EVP, R&D for a...

Mika Nishimura

Operational Partner
Mika is a commercialization executive with extensive leadership experience in conceiving, planning, and launching disruptive medical technologies in 50 markets across North America, EMEA, Asia-Pacific, and Latin America.  She has an exceptional track record of...